Welcome Readers!!! :) LEAVE A COMMENT…..BlOg AwAy!!!!

Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston

For seventeen-year-old actress Kelley Winslow, faeries are just childhood stories but after she meets Sonny Flannery, things change. Her eyes open not just to the faeries but also to the heritage that awaits her. Visit: http://www.lesleylivingston.com

Hi Readers,

I’m very grateful to be the White Pine Facilitator of Wondrous Strange. Some things to keep in mind while blogging:

         – Keep your tone professional

         – In order to be eligible to vote, you need to read at least 5 White Pine books and need to participate in the blogs. Keep in mind that the quality of the comments will be taken into consideration.

         – To make your experience worth while I will try my best to contact Lesley Livingston and ask her if she is able to participate in our blog.

HAPPY READING!!!!

~ by Wondrous Strange- Facilitator on October 31, 2009.

10 Responses to “Welcome Readers!!! :) LEAVE A COMMENT…..BlOg AwAy!!!!”

  1. I found this novel very interesting and captivating. I loved reading it and couldn’t put it down once I picked it up. However, I did find that the beginning of the novel was a bit slow but it picked up soon and ended with a bang. I loved the mystery it had to it as well as all the twists and turns. The ending left me wanting to read the sequel- Darklight. The part that I found very shocking was Sonny becoming the rider in the Wild Hunt, I was mortified when Sonny saw two or three beads still on Lucky, I just wanted to wring Auberon’s neck after discovering it was him. I found the ending very sad because I was hoping they would stay together and as I am a sucker of happy ending I wanted to see them together. I love the characters in the book and the shakespearean spin to it, very humerous especially the miscomunication between Sonny and Kelly, and Lucky in the tub. I think my favourite character in this book would have to be Bob (Puck) because of his playfulness and wit. What I loved about this book was that even the minor character were memorable. They stood out, like Chloe- the siren. I picked this novel because of it’s gendre- Urban Fantasy and the cover which was very captivating. I think the message Lesley Livingston wanted us to take from the novel was to find the strength in yourself, to embrace your heritage, and take a few risks in life. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy novels, are shakespeare fans, or are looking for a good read. I can’t wait for the sequel.

  2. I agree, it was pretty slow at the beginning but once the climax started to build, I couldn’t put the book down. I loved the crazy twists in the plot, (like Auberon being one of the bad guys, Tyff actually turning out to be one of “them”). I liked how in the end she got to compromise between the 2 options originally given to her. That way she gets the best of both worlds. The characters were really well-developed too. And the romance wasn’t too mushy either, which I appreciated 😉

    If I was to vote right now, this book would get my vote… but then again I’ve only read two!

    -Nardin

  3. I found this novel short and simple. It was definintly fun to read but it wasn’t that amazing. It was a good read and I would recommend it to anyone who likes romance and fantasy.

  4. I agree that the characters were very memorable and enjoyed how the author intertwined the plot of the novel with the plot and characters of Shakespeare’s play “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. I have to say I am not a real fantasy fan so found some of the plot to be not “wondrous strange” but just “strange”! However, because it is a fantasy novel, I guess that reality should be suspended for a while. On the other hand, I found the romance between Sonny and Kelly very believable and it was their relationship which held my interest as they tried to sort out who they were and where they belonged.

  5. It took me a while to start reading this novel with exam and everything, but when I finally got around to it, I couldn’t put it down. Yes the beginning was a little slow, but the story caught on very quickly and everything began to make sense. I really loved the characters in this novel and their interactions. Of course the romance between Sonny and Kelly made may heart skip every now, if you know what I mean. I think the concept of this novel was very believable. It reminds me a little of Harry Potter in the sense of hidden identity, encompassing another world and destiny that awaits the main character of the novel. Overall an amazing novel and I can’t wait to read the sequel. I just want to add one more thing and that is I can’t stand Auberon the selfish j***…

  6. This novel wasn’t very interesting , but that could be because im not a fantasy fan. There were events that didnt make sense to me and the characters were confusing. The ending was original because i didnt expect Auberon to be the one that caused all of the trouble and her mother to be the dark queen! I didnt quite follow all the magical beings. I agree , the beginning was very slow and it did get better, but overall, it wasnt very captivating.

  7. I liked the way Wondrous Strange was a more different more modernized take on the Shakespearean play “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” I also really liked the way that puck’s character was displayed with more human feelings and he also seemed older than the mischievous puck from “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. i really found that when Kelly’s roommate finds lucky in the bathroom was very amusing. i can’t wait to read the sequel when it comes out.

  8. I don’t want to hate on this book but, I did not really like this book as many other people have. The beginning was certainly slow and confusing up to mid point of the book. However, the book did have some events that I liked. For example Lucky in the bath tub and her model room mate coming in and getting angry for destroying her bathroom products. I didn’t like the ending either as i wanted them together which sucked cause I love when characters get together! I also wish there was more romantic events that occurred in the story line.

  9. I enjoyed the story and how it was planned out. In my honest opinion I’ve never read a story like this and how Lesley Livingston made it turn out. I’ve read a bunch of faerie books in my life, but none like this so that was a bonus. I enjoyed the adventure and stuff but what really bothered me about this book, sorry to do the complaining first, was that the characters weren’t really developed good enough in my opinion. I mean by the end of the story I couldn’t really tell you one personality trait about Sonny or Kelly other then Sarcasm and easily fooled. I also felt the love was a bit too rushed. Maybe I’ll have a better sense of the characters in the second novel, because this is a trilogy. I mean don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate this book I enjoyed it, or loved it, but this one thing bothered me throughout haft of the book.I think Lesley left the book off in a good place and will have readers itching for more. The author is very good with making plot twists and little surprises in the book that you’ll never guess from the beginning. She writes with words that will attract readers and keep them reading till the very end. Parts of the book are a bit slow whereas other parts aren’t. Some of the stuff happening was a bit too rushed and made me confused. (Ex; introduction of the Janus Guards and the story on the merry-go-round) I think anyone whose looking for fantasy, faeries ,adventure, and romance should read this book. I don’t think Lesley Livingston’s book will disappoint readers who are wanting to read this or are looking for a new book to read

  10. I thought this story was alright. It was interesting to see the author twist the storyline from Shakespeare’s play (Midsumme Night’s Dream). But other than that I thought it was perdictable and unintersting at many points.

Leave a Reply

 
